Crazy Hitchhike

20160815_170842

A lot of people recommended me Australia as perfect next destination, as it’s very close to New Zealand, hot even in winter and because of the awesome atmosphere all over this huge country.

Do you guys remember when I was writing about my very first friend I made… still during my flight to New Zealand? Exactly. This guy recommended me one place in Australia to go.

I knew I want to stay there for a while. I never thought I would be getting stuck there the whole 3 months of my time in Australia. Yes, 3 months I spent at the same place… And I don’t regret it at all. Actually it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. This place was one of the most inspiring and teaching places I’ve ever been.

This place is called Byron Bay. Oh Byron… I already get euphoric only with thinking about this amazing, life- changing time before I even write about it.

I miss this place a lot. It became like my second home. But OK. After you travel for a while the whole world starts being you home.

Anyway, before I start telling you guys about Byron Bay I have to tell you the tough story how I got from Sydney to Byron…(it’s an about 9 hours drive).

2.6.16 – 4.6.16 – Crazy hitchhiking experience – Sydney -> Byron

I started taking the train from Sydney to Newcastle what’s like an hour away. A friend recommended me to start hitchhiking from there as it’s hard to find somebody who drives towards Byron amongst Sydney. I kind of regret the decision to trust him, anyway, it’s a nice story to tell.

By the way, that’s the only bad experience I’ve made with hitchhiking in my life.

Well, I stood at the street in Newcastle for about an hour until a green VW Golf 2 stopped next to me. The driver first introduced himself, a more than 40 years old Irish guy who was living in Australia for about 20 years. He smelled a bit drunk and was smoking a joint when I jumped in. Then he introduced me to his dog. A Huskie sitting in the back. I’m usually a very dog- loving person but that one was too much. He kept jumping on me, trying to kiss and cuddle me all the time. It was funny at the beginning, but after a while it just got annoying.

So, at last this guy introduced me to his future- wife who was a model (I think it was Jessica Alba) in a gossip- magazin. The magazin was open, next to the wheel. At that point I’ve realized this guy is kind of weird. But as I never judge people after the first minutes I was waiting for his stories and tried to figure out more about him and if he’s really that weird as it seems.

After driving for about 5 minutes he told me he was hungry and asked me if I want to stop at McDonald’s real quick. No problem for me, even after he asked me if I can borrow him a few dollars as he didn’t have enough cash, at that moment.

At McDonald’s he ordered a meal for more than 20 dollars, I just took a small package of chips. I ended up paying all. Was alright for me as I thought I would get back my money.Well haha.

He was driving like crazy. Always maximum speed, overtaking the cars on both sides. Every 3- 5 seconds we was looking at his future- wife for a short moment. I was so scared, my god. I just trusted in being blessed enough to survive this ride.

After like an hour he stopped at a parking place without saying a word. He was just sitting there, doing nothing. 5 minutes later he started grabbing his ”Vasiline” and smeared it all over his body. Even over his hair, literally everywhere.

I couldn’t resist asking him what he’s doing. Then he told me his story. He was homeless for the last 3 months before he got his car which was actually stolen. Before, he lived in a tent in Sydney. It burned down at some point and he tried to kill parts of the flames with his feet. He showed me his feet from underneath. Looked really messed up.

Hearing that made me feel bad so I decided to give him a rest driving for a while even though I really wanted to arrive in Byron that day. Anyway, I started to doubt I would be arriving that day.

Half an hour later we carried on driving. Again, he was driving like a maniac. After a while he even took his future- wife between his hands on the wheel. Looking down every 1-2 seconds. At least I understood this photo was the only thing that gave him faith. There must have happened a lot in his life he didn’t tell me about. I don’t wanna know, actually. Somehow this guy was pitiful.

Another 2 hours later he told me he was being hungry again, started begging at me if it’s alright to stop at McDonald’s again and if I can ”borrow” him some more money.

At that point I understood this guy didn’t have any money on him nor does he have a credit card. He just had nothing. Only the stuff in the car, what was not a lot.

Casually he also mentioned we have to fill up petrol soon.

That was the moment I was praying to fnd any reason to jump out the car and leave him.

I’m still grateful for the angel that helped me in the next moment.

At the Drive- Through of McDonald’s the car suddenly broke down. We were not able to get it started again.

You can’t imagine what a relief that was.

I took my stuff, bought this guy his last meal and left before he could even finish to write on the paper he found, saying: 2 guys + dog -> Byron Bay.

Fortunately half an hour later a nice aborigine picked me up. It started getting dark and being rainy so I decided to rest about 200km before Byron in a nice Hostel. What a day. I was so glad to be able to lay in a bed at the end of that day.

The next morning, I wanted to arrive in Byron very early so I went at the street by 10am. Unfortunately, the rain became a storm… not even 15 minutes and my cardboard with ”Byron” written on it fell apart. 4 damn hours I stood in the rain, my clothes and my backpack were soaked…nobody picked me up. I decided to take train and bus to Byron. Eventually, I arrived when it was already dark again.

But finally there I was. At the place of my dreams. Paradise. Byron Bay. The next 3 months were gonna be amazing! Oh Byron…

 

 

20160604_12282720160604_12333920160604_101813

 

Leave a comment