Santiago Part 2 & South

20.03.17 – 24.03.17 – Santiago Part 2

I went back to Santiago for a few days, afterwards. Again, back into my beloved Don Santiago Hostel. There, I met a really cool group of people I hung out the next days with. 2 guys from the states and one of the less beautiful girls from New Zealand I ever saw in my life. The first night we went to a chilean house party together. That was the first time I’ve been on a local party. It was a lot of fun and confirmed me how open, friendly and funny Chileans are.

Still, again I regret I was drinking Pisco… Another strong hangover.

A few days later I met a nice girl, called Angelica who actually was kind of a famous Venezuelan TV- Moderator for a short while and who’s working as Designer in Santiago, now. We went into some museums together and had a nice time, in general. She showed me around some hidden spots I didn’t know, before. Again, she was someone who doesn’t speak any English so I could practise some more. I was impressed how fast I improved. Somehow, we were always able to communicate even though at this state I could not say all I wanted to, at all.

Foto 02.04.17, 17 17 49

Angelica & me

Foto 03.04.17, 20 58 42

so much german influence hahaha

Foto 09.04.17, 18 06 15Foto 09.04.17, 18 06 06

Download (1)

As I decided I’ll go to Bolivia next I needed to get the yellow fever- vaccination first. It’s a Must- Have before entering countries like Bolivia, Peru and Colombia. It costs about 30 €, so it’s not too bad.

Foto 13.03.17, 15 43 13

the ”river” in Santiago is not really the nicest

Foto 13.03.17, 15 41 19

Tallest building in South America

Foto 13.03.17, 13 32 45

Costanera Center- 5 floors

Foto 12.03.17, 20 35 12Foto 12.03.17, 20 16 50Foto 12.03.17, 20 07 48Foto 12.03.17, 19 34 49Foto 12.03.17, 19 42 27Foto 12.03.17, 19 43 30Foto 12.03.17, 19 48 38Foto 12.03.17, 20 06 26Foto 12.03.17, 20 02 42

Foto 22.03.17, 18 39 17Foto 22.03.17, 19 12 47Foto 22.03.17, 20 36 16

Then, I finally!!! caught up with my friend Fernando (remember? He was my tent- mate in Australia) What an amazing feeling to meet this guy again, on the other side of the world. This time in his country. As he is a proper businessman it was hard to find a moment to catch up with him. Even more, I enjoyed the few hours we could spend together. We had some good food and beers together. Was so awesome to meet you brother! I’m sure it won’t be the last time in our lifes! You are always welcome at my home (or my tent hahah).

25.03.17 – 28.03.17 – Discovering the South – Pucon & Valdivia

I decided to see a part of the south of Chile before it would get to cold so I took a night bus to Pucon. The area around Pucon is beautiful! Full of volcanos, mountains and lakes, wherever you go. I arrived very early in the morning. Still before sunrise. So I went to the lake. The sunrise was one of the most beautiful ones I ever experienced! There’s one active vulcano you can see very well from this spot. The snowy peak of the volcano was colored in such a strong pink it looked like it would be erupting. Also, the very quiet lake was reflecting all that perfectly like it was a mirror. Pinkish clouds in the sky… just super beautiful. Afterwards, I checked into my hostel called El Refugio Hostal. Down south it gets more expensive. So I paid a lot, I think like 16€- It was still the cheapest one there. I don’t regret it, though, as this hostel was actually perfect. Perfect location, nice staff and a very pretty facility. As I didn’t have a lot time and there’s plenty of stuff to do I went for a hike straightaway, together with a cool French guy who’s working as a programmer, traveling the world.

We did kind of a treasure hunt to a super hidden huge waterfall. We got a treasure map from the hostel staff… still, we lost ourselves 4 times and almost fell down a cliff before we finally found it. Was definitely a lot of fun.

Foto 24.03.17, 07 45 41

6am

Foto 24.03.17, 07 46 03Foto 24.03.17, 08 18 02

Foto 24.03.17, 08 18 42

sunrise

Foto 24.03.17, 16 02 06

Foto 24.03.17, 16 03 24

found it!

In the evening I went to bed early as I had a big plan, the next day.

I decided to do an 8 hours- hike in a national park, close by. Unfortunately, the weather was not perfect. I mean I was actually lucky it didn’t rain… it’s not nice being on top of a mountain with still several hours of way ahead and no rain protection, at all. This hike was the most exhausting one I ever did. On one hand, because I tried to rush as fast as possible to not miss the bus back and kind of run away from the rain. On the other hand, the track was only super- steep, all the way up. I arrived at the peak about half an hour before the second group that started the same time as me. Was an amazing feeling to arrive up there on about 2900m even though I couldn’t see nothing as it was cloudy all around me. (Actually, you can see like 7 volcanos and 5 lakes from there) Anyway, I took some amazing mystical looking photos.

The way up took me 3,5 hours. The way down I even took a longer circle, still, it only took me 2 hours. I love hiking. It reminds you how strong and ambitious your mind can be. And of course, a beautiful view is always appreciated, as well.

Foto 25.03.17, 11 08 30

Hiking ❤

Foto 25.03.17, 11 14 01Foto 25.03.17, 11 21 16Foto 25.03.17, 11 32 19Foto 25.03.17, 11 40 00Foto 25.03.17, 11 46 21Foto 25.03.17, 11 56 14Foto 25.03.17, 12 01 14Foto 25.03.17, 12 14 53

Foto 25.03.17, 12 16 51

Foto 25.03.17, 12 39 51

Reached the top! No view though

Foto 25.03.17, 12 59 17

Foto 25.03.17, 13 47 35

my first Tarantula (as big as my fist)

Foto 25.03.17, 14 31 38Foto 25.03.17, 12 16 56

Although it was a tough day, I went out the night with a huge group of the hostel- family.

This hostel, by the way, had something special you don’t find a lot in the world. There was a group of german carpenters living that is ”auf der Walz”. They travel the world, always walk around and work for anybody who needs their service. I actually only know that from inside germany. Was really funny meeting them there. Especially, because they were the total party animals- all they did was drinking, partying, sleeping and a bit of working. All the time. Some of them do that since several years. I wonder how their livers can still be alive.

Anyway, the party was actually quite nice. It was the first time I managed to go into a club on this journey. Still, I figured out… I get a lot of attention and compliments for my dancing skills, even in Southamerica where people are supposed to dance amazing.

The last day, I caught up with Fernando who was visiting a city next to Pucon because of business.

Again, he didn’t have a lot time but it was amazing hanging out with him.

Was so awesome brother. One day we will meet again! Miss you!

Then I went further – to Valdivia.

I didn’t know nothing about it. I didn’t even book a hostel in advance. Was quite hard to find one at first as there was not much to find online. When I finally found a cheap hostel I was able to discover this actually very interesting and nice city.

It’s located at a river that can show some amazing reflections at certain times. Inside this river, there are heaps of huge sealions and seals living. They all gather at one point, close to the fishmarket. I never expected sealions are that huge and loud. I spend like an hour just watching them and laughing about their weird noices and kinds of communcation.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Furthermore, there’s not too much you can see. There’s a huge university located combined with a park you can spend some time and relax in. But besides that… I was glad I just booked 2 nights. Would have been pretty boring.

28.03.17 – 02.04.17 – Vina del Mar Part 2 / Santiago Part 3

From Valdivia I took the nightbus to Vina del Mar, again. I really wanted to catch up with Ruby again. Eventually, she didn’t have a lot time for me… her work as a nurse kept her busy and she wasn’t able to change her shifts. Anyway, I didn’t regret going there.

It was the first time I was trying AirBnb. As I already mentioned earlier I totally love living in AirBnB’s. That time definitely was a good first experience. I was living at a flat of two chilean students. Cousins called Seba and Diego. They were both super outgoing and always keen to hang out with me. One night we went on a huge private uni- party in Valparaiso. There was a concert with very popular chilean bands, playing. Actually, it was impossible to get into the party if you were not a student. Also, we brought way to much beer to get it all in, we thought. It worked out perfectly, though. Everyone took some beers inside his boxers and we were telling the security guards I used to study there. This time I was just on holiday so of course I didn’t have my student card (Funny was, he never questioned my Spanish skills). At this concert I realized how tall I am compared to Latin people. I could stand in the last row and still see the whole stage, perfectly.

Foto 01.04.17, 02 15 24

with Diego that sneaky guy haha

That night seriously was amazing! But also combined with a strong hangover as the Pisco was ridiculously cheap.

The next day, I met Ruby for a few hours. The only and probably last time. That’s the only thing I don’t like about traveling. Often you have to say goodbye to people you can be pretty sure you will never meet again. Ok well, you never know.

For another night I went back to Santiago. Again in my beloved hostel there. The next morning I already left again after having some drinks with the owner.

Leave a comment